I am famous too! It must be the biking thing

August 8, 08 at 7:06 pm 3 comments

Last Friday, I had my own TV appearance on KTLA (local channel 5) Morning News, where I and my co-instructor (Ron D) rode with a TV News Anchor – Frank Buckly from his home in Studio City to Hollywood. Most of the route was on the Metro so the biking portion was only 2 miles long, but still, it was great coverage. Here is the Video:

KTLA contacted us because they saw that we were teaching a bicycle safety/education course in Santa Monica that weekend. They were doing a commuter week special so it was a perfect fit when Frank wanted to bicycle/Metro in. It was so easy for him that he was surprised that he didn’t do it more often… Granted, he has to dress up for work, but he should be able to work that out with the studio!

Anyway, there are several segments to the taping: 2 teasers where we were just standing around, the actual bike ride, a quick interview before heading down to the train station, the bike ride from Hollywood/Vine station to the TV set (where we get to ride directly in!! How cool is that!), then finally another short interview just outside of the set. Thinking back, I should of plug-in for the LACBC, but oh well, I wasn’t thinking straight because I didn’t get much sleep the night before.

I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be. I think it’s because I was joined by Ron and Russ Roca, which helps a lot.

Russ had taken some photos, which he posted on the Bike Commuter site. Check it out!

Oh yeah, get the word out that WE ARE TEACHING PEOPLE HOW TO SAFELY BICYCLE! Check the LACBC website for upcoming classes! No matter how long you have been a cyclist, if you have never taken a Road 1 Course (developed by League of American Bicyclists), you are very likely to learn something new.

Entry filed under: Commuting, Cycling, LACBC, Life. Tags: .

My dad’s famous! Edible plants

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Homegrown Evolution  |  August 9, 08 at 7:15 am

    Nice job Henry! Star power!!!

  • 2. Aurisha  |  August 10, 08 at 10:10 am

    Great job guys! This will be up on our website as well: http://www.la-bike.org LACBC in the NEWS section!

  • 3. MYang  |  August 13, 08 at 10:32 pm

    Thank you for sharing the video. I enjoy it a lot. Great job!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

